London: video time


Something I saw this week.
And a thing I was to start working on.

I've realised that I am much more of a linguistic person. I love words and reading and expessing myself through language, so it's a kind of strange revelation to have when photography is so imporat to me. It's also a weird thing to talk about in a so-called photoblog. I have been writing a personal journal from a very young age, but I have also been taking photos from a very young age. I think these two can and have co-existed for a very long time. It does however explain to me why I never pushed myself or visualised conseptual things as beautifully as I'd love to. I enjoy other photographers' work immensly, be it fashion, street or conseptual work. And most times I feel a tinge of jealousy not being able to produce not only the technicality of some shots, but more so the ideas behind them.

This is probably one of the reasons street photography has suited me very well personally. For me it has always been about documenting the everyday, however bizarre or boring it is around me. It also makes me see things I wouldn't usually see, observe people in a way I usually wouldn't and look at things differently. Photography has also become a very personal thing for me in the past year.  It's become something that I enjoy and think about more, but for my sake rather than anyone elses. Before I felt like I had to achieve something to a specific level, or thought in beforehand what others would think about it. Of course I like to keep standards high and wonder if other people see what I have seen in the photos I post for example here, but it's not a main priority any more. Funny that apart from the learning process this all has become this kind of internal process, too.

So, where do videos and YouTube come into all this? Maybe somewhere in between. To me it's all about the visual as well as the story, so maybe I am finding myself somewhere new, and experimental. The above video is part of a series, or more a beginning of a series, I have decided to work on this year. My London.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Comments on “London: video time”

  1. Alex says:

    I love this! It makes me feel like I'm back in London.

  2. DaveT says:

    Interesting that you're getting into the video thang.I've been posting some stuff about Splashcast over at…http://whotube.groups.vox.com/You might find it of use?I'm pondering doing something arty farty with people contributing from all over the planet.What are you shooting your video on?

  3. DaveT says:

    Interesting that you're getting into the video thang.I've been posting some stuff about Splashcast over at…http://whotube.groups.vox.com/You might find it of use?I'm pondering doing something arty farty with people contributing from all over the planet.What are you shooting your video on?

  4. pebaline says:

    I'm finding it difficult to get into to the swing of things with groups here on VOX :-D I've certainly not filmed enough to put anything out there as yet (cold feet! :-P)
    I filmed this particular video with my Nokia N73. It's prving to be a really handy little things. But I did the video of my Sunday on my Olympus digicompact, which has been in repair for two months now…

  5. Bookmole says:

    This really felt like a February morning – I know it is, but it really caught the feel of it. I found myself squirming, thinking how cold my bum was gonna be, sitting on the steps for that long!And who knew Take That could sing such a lovely song?


Leave a Reply

