the year of the golden pig

Happy Chinese New Year!

London has been celebrating in style, and I think with more people than ever today to bring in the Year of the Pig. I went to enjoy the sights, scents and crush of people today in London's China Town and West End. This is what I saw:


There were a LOT of people, did I say?
Everyone and everything was decked in decorations today, including the vegetable stands.


I tell you, it all smelled and looked so good!


The fireworks and those little bendy dragons were doing good business today.
Last year they did these glittery dogs (for the year of the dog, of course),
but I couldn't find any nice piggy ones this year to buy as a souvenier.

These dragons were really gorgeous though:


Dragons were all the craze today anyways.
The dragon dancers were doing their rounds in the China Town and were much expected by the small…


and the not so small! :-D

Everyone was trying to find the perfect spot to see the festivities:

Although some were not that fussed to be honest!

There were also other things for kids to do…


like climbing or…


… just being musical while dad doesn't notice! :-D

So, to bring in a lucky new year open your windows, turn the lights on at night and eat something sweet!

Gung hei fat choi!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 Comments on “the year of the golden pig”

  1. Alex says:

    I love how happy everyone is in these pictures!

  2. Crush-Monkey says:

    Your photos are always AWESOME! Love these!

  3. DaveT says:

    Glad to see your feeling better :-)

  4. Jane says:

    Great photos! I wish I'd been in London today. Or anywhere with a decent-sized Chinatown. I particularly love the one of Nelson.
    Oh, and now we're MySpace friends!

  5. kat says:

    [いいですね]

  6. I'm glad you are feeling better enough to venture forth into the world. As always, your pictures are wonderful to look at.

  7. Haha, CNY celebrations seems to be much more happier in other countries :D
    I wonder how it feels like to celebrate CNY in every different countries ^^

  8. Bookmole says:

    I wish I had been well enough to go myself, but these pics are almost as good – just missing the food :-(These are lovely – glad you are feeling better now.

  9. Tahtee says:

    Hello,
    I loved your Photos. I´m from brazil and i have been in london for a once, but loved the city. I have a few friends living there. Also a very good friend, married with a english man. Well, my english is not too good now… i need to improved… and i´ll…hahahah
    I hope you don´t mind, but a add you to my neighborhood.
    Hug´s and Kisses


Leave a Reply

