I heart London

I came across this wonderful book yesterday in one of my favourite bookstores Waterstones. Not only is the book with pink covers, but has all kinds of quirky details and lovely stories about London.

It actually had me at the opening quote by Henry James:

 

"It is difficult to speak adequately, or justly, of London. It is not a pleasant place; it is not agreeable, or easy, or exempt from reproach. It is only magnificent."

 

I'm sometimes at a loss for words when trying to explain how I feel about London and living here. It is difficult to explain the energy and the city itself, and the way it fills my heart – so thank you Henry James. :-)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 Comments on “I heart London”

  1. Crush-Monkey says:

    What a cute little book!!
    That quote is just perfect too!

  2. Jane says:

    That's a great quote. I must look out for that book.

  3. Bookmole says:

    So true. I might just nick that quote for my banner.I have had a love/hate relationship with London for over 30 years now. I love its buzz, hate it's crowds. Love the culture, hate the smell. But who would want to be anywhere else? Even now, when I hardly get into London, I know it is there, just a few stops on the tube to Baker Street or Regent Street, and I would so miss that if I were to move.If we all get together for a LoVox meetup in the sping/summer, would you be coming? I would be interested in meeting this person who posts such magnificent and evocative pictures of my favourite city!

  4. pebaline says:

    I was all set up to come to the previous voxmeet, but got stuck at work
    so couldn't make it. It was such a shame, since I read around what a
    great time everyone had. I'd defo love to meet up if there is another
    in the spring/summer. And thank you so much for you lovely word. :-)

  5. Krsjn says:

    I'm going to have to look out that book – the quotation was fab :) Am slap bang between two huge waterstones', and I'm a fan, but really, deep down, I'm a Hatchards man. All those signed hardbacks – I can't quite describe the feeling, but it's a bit like drinking a really, really good coffee. </rapture>

  6. Mark says:

    Found your blog through your RFH fountain photo and, as a London-loving Londoner, I love your blog!If you enjoyed the London Companion, you might also enjoy another London book I've read called "Necropolis: London and its dead". Sounds morbid, but it's a fascinating trip through London – including the origin of many of its public spaces and absolutely amazing Victorian graveyards (Not plugging it, incidentally, but thought you might be interested as a related read!).

  7. Raz says:

    I was in UK, mainly Folkstone – London for about 8 months in 1998. It is indeed a magnificent place. I love the place and wish I could come back.


Leave a Reply

