two seconds

It's a bit quiet here on the London-front. I'm having some me-time, us older people need it you know to recover from life's turns once in a while. ;-) I've not been totally useless though and have been snapping away with my Nokia N73 (as you do to earn the title of a stalker from loved ones). Here are my recent favourites:

On my birthday I was at Canary Wharf, well, just because. I have taken a lot of photos in this spot, because I just love these clocks. I also captured a little video from this spot which is at my YouTube account if you want to watch it.

I ended up celebrating my birthday what seemed like forever. Not that I'm complaining, I had a great time every time we went out. :-) This was from the evening when we went out to a meal in Wagamamas on the South Bank. One of my favourite London restaurants in one of my favourite London spots. It was almost as perfect night as it seemed to be for these two.

All the birthday celebrations culminated at the Johnossi gig at the Spitz on Tuesday 22nd May. I hadn't seen live music for a while, nor someone this talented yet so unknown and up-and-coming. I love live music, even though at parts the gig was far too loud (I did say I was old now!) and it took two days for my ears to stop ringing, there is something amazing about the feeling of being bathed in sound that you only get at live gigs. Totally worth all the damage to my ears I tells ya. ;-)

I keep spotting these particular type of gloves on the streets and roads of London. Maybe it's one of those things that you just start noticing more when its pointed out to you, or maybe it is… destiny? Who knows! :-D I feel oddly compelled to take photos of them now, like they have a special hello to me that I should record.

Another thing I have been bumping into recently is the workmen of London… in mostly these kinds of situations. I don't know what this says about the working morale of the labourers in London, but I found this damn funny. May I point out that this was taken about quarter to five in the afternoon. I hope he's just had a very long hard day at work…

This was quite a refreshing sight for a change, I could even call it "meaningful graffiti". She was working on this for couple of days actually, and I think it was a photo she was copying from what looked like a 70's fashion catalogue. Why she is painting it between a pound shop and a kebab joint in Archway beats me, but like I said, it was quite refreshing.

Tomorrow is another bank holiday in England, so I'll have a day off. I might even pop out the door this time, since today I have mostly been reading and watching DVDs. If there is any photo action I'm sure you'll be the first to know. :-)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments on “two seconds”

  1. Jane says:

    I've never been to Canary Wharf, but I love that photo of the clocks. Ah, I love what they've done to the South Bank there. I've hung out at that branch of Wagamama too, and only a few days ago I was in the Italian place next door.
    The glove photo is sort of sinister, and would make a great start to a scifi film or a Doctor Who episode… maybe the gloves are a kind of message to start the invasion now.
    That mural in Archway also has a look of Soviet-era posters.
    Again, lovely photos. I so look forward to your posts.

  2. Crush-Monkey says:

    Awesome photos! The clocks photo is just VERY cool ! : )


Leave a Reply

