Soura feature

Happy weekend from London! Apart from spending my time cleaning and tidying this Saturday I've finally managed to scan the feature of me and my street photography from the July – August feature of the Soura Magazine to share with you. You'll probably recognize most of these photos, since the magazine found me through VOX. ;-)

They made a swanky intro page to my feature.

The magazine is a bit larger than my scanner, so apologies for the gaps in the middle.

It is still quite surreal to hold the magazine in my hands and see my photos in it.

I had to omit a spread between here. It's not anything you haven't seen before though. Just two single photos in the spread. I just love how they made the layout of the pages as well. It's quite incredible to see my photos this size, in a real magazine! :)

They kindly asked me to provide a self portrait with the feature. I shot one near midnight one week night with one of my Polaroid land cameras. I quite like how it turned out considering it was quite last minute.

Soura also asked me to tell a little bit about myself, my approach to photography and basically what street photography means to me. I wrote some thoughts down thinking it will get heavily edited, but to my surprise the whole text accompanied the photographs in the feature. I'm very grateful to my great friend René who was very patient with me and helped me get my thoughts straight. He provided me with a firm editorial hand and great insights of his own for my text. Without him I'd probably come across really ditzy! :D

I'm also very thankful for the interest and support Soura magazine has provided me in my photography. Special thanks goes to the editor in chief Mariam who was a great pleasure to deal with and who sent me two copies of the magazine to share with my family, too. And of course a big thanks to VOX for providing such a great and easy-to-use platform for me to be able to share my London and photographs with you all.

Hope you're having a lovely weekend, there are more photos to come soon! ;-)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

18 Comments on “Soura feature”

  1. lauowolf says:

    totally thrilling to end up in print — but sooooo deserved.lovely stuff!

  2. Alex says:

    Congratulations! What an exciting event. You deserved it.

  3. zombiebite says:

    the spread looks yummy!

  4. AmyH says:

    Congratulations! You are well on your way to international photog stardom!

  5. Allishandra says:

    Hey that's really cool!! Congratulations!!!! Beautiful photography =)

  6. IG says:

    these are great!

  7. Melissa says:

    great photos! i love how you capture london!
    just curious, what camera do you use?

  8. pebaline says:

    Thank you so much everybody! :)

  9. pebaline says:

    Thanks Melissa! :) I shoot both film and digital. Most of the photos in this blog I have shot with my Canon 20D DSLR. ;)

  10. Brown Suga' says:

    Hey great photos! I found you via the [TIG]. Congrats!

  11. Melissa says:

    that's cool! the 20D is a great camera! you must have been in photography for a very very long time!i'm a photobug myself, albeit a very new one. barely been into it for 2 months now!

  12. Jane says:

    Soooo exciting! By the way, I tried roaming the streets of Edinburgh thinking, "What would pebaline take a picture of?" And I realised what a fantastic eye you have, and how amazingly quick you must be, and how good you are at what you do. Because all my attempts had people with missing feet or heads, or random hands straying in the sides of the shot, or people glaring at me for daring to take their photo. So I have even more admiration for you now than I did before.

  13. pebaline says:

    Thank you so much Jane! I'm so glad you gave it a try, it really sounds like my first times doing street photography! :D Trust me, more you do it, the easier it gets. It's lovely to have you back from Edinburgh btw!


Leave a Reply

