carnival spirit

So, I managed to actually go to the Notting Hill Carnival this year. A small miracle indeed, as for the past eight years this has been in the plans. And there I was, with my Holga poised yesterday, and these are my memories from the first time in the biggest street carnival in Europe:

First impressions: There were a lot of people.
Mostly dressed in bright colours.

There was also a lot of rubbish, everywhere.
(…and guys too cool for school :D)

There were also a lot of people selling, and buying, rubbish.

And then there was a lot of waiting around.
We were all waiting for the main parade to come by.
When it did, I have no idea where the thousands of people appeared from.
I should have called this "the calm before the storm".

Then the parade came by! In all its colourful, heart thumping bass soca way.
The costumes, the dancing, all fabulous!
Although some people were feeling tired of having the hundreth photo taken of them. :D

Elsewhere in Notting Hill:
There were a lot of police around. Some were on these magnificent horses.

They were getting a lot of love indeed. :D
I have to say that they were the highlight of my day, too.

In the end I escaped the crush of people to Hyde Park.

I had lovely lunch near Hyde Park Corner and thought that honestly I'm not very disappointed it took me all this time to pop over to the carnival. I suppose it's one of those things that is better exprienced with someone or a group of friends. But in the end I'm glad I went, it's just been embarrasing not to have been all this time I've been in London. And it was a nice day out with my Holga, too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Comments on “carnival spirit”

  1. Bookmole says:

    An intimate view of a very public event – well done! I have managed Notting Hill Carnival once, when I was 20. No camera. Not so many crowds either.

  2. pebaline says:

    Thanks everybody! Glad you are enjoying them! :)


Leave a Reply

