Red Rainbow

The Project Rainbow is starting to work wonders for me. I have broken the cycle of only going out to shoot on the streets of London only when there is something happening in the event way. So much so that I went for a little stroll around Westminster and South Bank yesterday just for this month's colour red and found myself really getting into it regardless of the miserable weather. It's funny how much red there was once I was focused on just that colour.

Red walls, people wearing red… it was all around me.
And I got a photo for my Run-series with this one, too. Bonus!

I decided at the beginning of the project that I'll try to avoid some clichés, like the red telephone boxes in London. See how long that lasted! :D I just couldn't resist it when I saw this couple struggling trying to get into one – and how the girl saved the day (of course!). ;)

This on the other hand was suitably surreal scene to intrigue me even without any red colour in it. I have been reading and looking at photos by Joel Meyerowitz a lot this week, and I think some of the photos I took this day were greatly influenced by his work. He's one of my favourite street photographers. He's a real pioneer in colour street photography, too, so obviously the man is my hero. ;)

Then there was the usual couple trouble to catch my eye.
These two were trying to take the perfect tourist photo together of the Big Ben on his mobile phone.
Girl saves the day – Part two. ;)

  I stayed in this one spot by the County Hall for a while. I admit, I was hoping for someone with red hair to pass, but it just wasn't meant to be. Actually a lot of the great photos I saw happened 5 seconds before I got my camera to it. It was a funny day like that yesterday. But there was this one fantastic moment where I saw this woman coming down with her red umbrella and as I pressed the shutter down, this happened. It made up for no red heads most certainly.

On the long run I had to settle for these kinds of red heads instead. :)
Another stroke of luck really. Red buildings, red jacket, red hoodies.
I was a happy girl.

I'm not sure how picky the project is about the colour red. I think this is a bit on the borderline for me to submit to the collection, but I liked the shoes. And the "friendly and interested" manned of the man giving information in the Star Wars booth. If you're in London I really recommend the exhibition btw. I saw it in Helsinki few years back. It's great, and really interesting even if you're not a die hard fan.

This is my favourite photo from yesterday. I quite liked the static approach to the street photography, which is something new to me. But just observing and letting things happen in front of me had some benefits. Like catching this young man being more interested in anything but the Big Ben. I know, it's so last century! :)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Comments on “Red Rainbow”

  1. Crush-Monkey says:

    Amazing photos as usual !! The scooter in front of the blue wall ROCKS!! : )

  2. Bill says:

    What a great concept, Susie!

  3. Raz says:

    Wow!!! I really like all you photos shots that I've seen so far in Vox.And I've a bit desire to take photos like what you did. You know using people and act around us. And I only have my Canon digital camera which I think is a very simple camera. Hope I can take more of the photos and upload in Vox.

  4. pebaline says:

    I really loved the idea of Project Rainbow, and I was desperate to get a little project going to get me out of a bit of a rut. :) but living vicariously through me… now that could be dangerous! :D

  5. pebaline says:

    Thank you so much! What I would say is get out there and start taking photos. :) It's not often about what you use for a camera, but how you use it. And more photos you take better you get and more of an idea you have of what kind of equipment you need in the future. I look forward to seeing what you get up to now! :)


Leave a Reply

