end of the rainbow

Blatantly I have been in denial about the near end of the Project Rainbow. It has occupied and inspired me this year to take colour themed photographs in and out of London and today is the day I can say that I have completed the seven sets of 20 photos. It feels slightly hollow and strange to be sitting here and realise it really is the end of the rainbow. Now where is my pot of gold? :D Before I show you today's photos let me share you some photos from Brighton where I was last weekend with my sister.

Brighton is called "London by the sea" and it certainly lives up to this name. I hadn't been for a long time and my sister came with me for the first time so we did the really touristy Brighton things and hung mostly at the beach and the Pier. I first came to Brighton when I was 14 and the Pier was the coolest thing ever. ;)

Especially the fun fair – arcade part of it still captures my inner teenager. I'm glad I'm not the only one that takes these things seriously. I can so relate to how this man is feeling playing this game. It's one of my favourite British things actually, but we didn't have a go. Just for the sanity of both me and my sister. :D FTW!

One of the funniest things we saw that day were these boys playing by the beach, just a stone's throw away from the Pier and the amusements. They obviously thought it would be more fun to see which one of them can run around that barricade without getting wet. Although I think getting soaked by the sea was part of the fun in the end. ;)

And as for today. I took a nice long walk from Piccadilly to South Bank. Today is a public holiday, or Bank Holiday if you want to be all British, and the weather was OK-ish for some street photography. I really need to start getting into an autumn routine with my photography as well and start taking more night time shots. Something I always say in autumn and then chicken out. :P

I love the contradiction in this so much. The first photo I took today
and I couldn't have been happier with the start I had. ;)

I have no idea what was going on with these two or on the ground. Just makes a great moment for me to add to my blue collection. I actually find taking photos at Leicester Square really hard – too many people and not enough background interest going on. A total opposite to this shot actually.

And here it is, the last blue photo and the last photo of the Project Rainbow. I loved how these two men juxtapose with each other. And you can't beat a blue t-shirt leaning on the blue wall. I'm quite content how the series turned out. Some colours were mentally really hard for me, but I'm glad I'm all done now. Actually, I'm thinking of adding some "unofficial" themes to the Project so let's see how that works out. I really want something to carry me to the end of the year and then ideally start a new project for 2009.

This is about wanting to tell some more stories with my photos. Something a friend said last night struck me about my usual approach to the street. I'm now trying to make more effort in not excluding individuals from their surroundings (yeah, let's see how long that lasts :D) and make and effort to give a bit more flavour of London with the photos… like in the above photo.

Tourism is hard work you know! ;)

My favourite photo from today. Not bad for 50mm in my opinion, although I can't wait to start rocking some proper full frame wide angle on the streets of London as I've booked tickets to New York for November and the Christmas present plan is a Canon 5D. Can't wait, for either actually. It'll be my first time in the US and New York especially. :)

I popped in the Royal Festival Hall to use the facilities and they had this ballroom dancing performace (?competition) going on. The audience was really… thrilled. I would be if I was drinking at lunch time, too. ;)

It's the last day of the Psycho Buildings exhibition at Hayward Gallery. The queue was loooong.
Just liked the frame in a frame setting here. I think that could be another theme/project for next year.
Very old skool street photography theme-wise actually. ;)

And that my darlings is it for not only the Project Rainbow but for the photos from today.
Time for me to veg out and have a little nap myself in front of the TV me thinks. ;)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Comments on “end of the rainbow”

  1. nosa says:

    damn! dont i just LOVE your pictures !!!keep them coming! they soo cheeeee me up!

  2. Phil says:

    Love the photographs. They are excellent. Up with your best.Particularly liked "carousel", "queued" and "naptime".Having always lived here down on the South Coast of England, it is good and I do like it, but I can't say I've ever thought of it as "the coolest thing ever".Obviously I'm too close to it see as cool.

  3. Emma says:

    Great photos! And congrats on finishing the project! I've still got a way to go. You did remind me to post my latest photos though.

  4. Stephanie-j says:

    I love these photos. It's always so sad when things come to an end. You do have a great collection of themed photos though. What's with the naptime? Is it a feature that's set up for people to nap during the day? :\


Leave a Reply

