Soho Sunday

I had this funny urge to start tidying up last night about 11.30pm and it continued to this morning, but really it was such a gorgeous day today I just couldn't stay in and clean. So, inspired by some photos of Nick Turpin, I took to the streets of Soho today to see what comes my way, like clever parking by fellow Londoners. ;)

My aims and aesthetics seem to evolve and change constantly by what I see and experience in my life and this affects my photography. I suppose it's a natural progress, but it doesn't stop amazing me every time I notice it. Today, unlike the usual, I was after some contact with the people I was shooting.

  What a difference it makes to connect with the people out there on the streets. Some find it hostile, but mostly I get away with a lot. And I mean, a lot. :)  I think being female has a lot to do with it, and to be honest I don't mind. Being a woman and a street photographer has always put me in a minority of the minorities in the photography circles, so I'm used to the challenge. It's actually quite amazing how many people don't mind having their picture taken when you are gracious and open about it.

Although, the suspiciousness and hostility is part of it all. Trust me, when it comes to connecting with people, I'm not going to start make it a regular, confrontational and/or aggressive thing. There are street photographers who do that for the reaction they get, but that's just not how I roll. :D

There were some interesting things going on today in Soho. It's not a part of London I go shoot to often, but in the spirit of the last entry where I was talking about moving out of my geographical comfort zones it was good to see and experience somewhere I know, but don't often document.

And I'm glad I was out there. It felt fresh, it felt challenging, it felt good. And spotting and catching stuff like this makes me very happy. :) Sometimes it really is in the little things…

The little things like movement… He was trying to grab a photo of the giant electric socket art installation above me. Me instead was trying to catch him doing something interesting in view of that window display. So I caught him going all dance-y on my in synch with the mannequins. Fair trade, no? :D

As a side note, I think I am shaking off the colour red for now and seem to be replacing it with arrows. :) There were a lot of subconscious(?) arrows juxtaposed with things today in my photos going through them. Something I took away from doing project rainbow last year is the fact that I am more observant of colour and it's relationship to its environment. Just something about red that has stuck with me the most I think. :D

Have no idea what was going on with him, but liked it; liked the sign above him, like the shot. Simple as. And all that colour in this is orange, by the way. :D

This was shot from the bus window on my way home. I usually turn my camera off and put it away when I make my way home. I don't know why, it's a strange ritual really. But this man caught my eye and I love these posters by the King's College at Aldwych. I think there is a great shot still waiting to happen by Mr Maurice a bit further down this bit…

And this my friends is my personal favourite from today. It's one of those photos that just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside actually. Love the comment about Oyster cards, and him looking inside his hat. A weird and wonderful pair of things. Al and all, it's been a lovely weekend; it's been relaxing, productive and creative. A perfect balance really. And I'm glad I got to see something fresh through my viewfinder today. ;)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Comments on “Soho Sunday”

  1. Ishtar says:

    I've always been curious about how street photographers approach the subjects. Do you ask people to pose or do you just catch them while they do their things?

  2. pebaline says:

    In the spirit of street photography I never ask people to pose for me, that's more in the genre of street portraiture. Street photography for me is about moments there and then, documented "as is", in a candid manner. This means that I am usually very covert and indiscreet, well at least I try to be(!), when I am on the streets of London taking photos.
    Yesterday was a rare day for me in seeking some contact with the people in one way or another whilst shooting. It's quite surprising that even when people see me standing there, quite close, taking photos, they don't believe I'd be interested enough of taking a photograph of them. That is what I meant when I said in the post that I get away with a lot. :)

  3. Ishtar says:

    Thank you for answering my question. I think it takes courage to be a street photographer. It's interesting that you said people don't believe that you'd be interested in photographing them. That's not what I had expected. I like this set of images, especially the way you split the frame in the composition.

  4. CliffhangerB says:

    Looks like another beautiful day in London. Enjoyed this set. :)


Leave a Reply

