solace

The scent of jasmine is in the air in London. This for me is the sure sign summer is here.

The other scents wafting about London are not so pleasant… ;)

But before I digress: Today was my last day off from work. I took a mini-break this weekend and had Friday and Monday off, I might have mentioned already. Today I went over to the British Museum. It's one of my favourite haunts in London and most often the first place where I find solace when I am sad or stressed.

There is something about the vast staircases, air of history and scent of the rooms that I find very comforting.

It's a great place to just sit and ponder about the meaning of life…

… or just people watch. These photos are from my favourite part of the British Museum – the Asian wing. This one includes "my Buddha", the one for anyone born on a Monday. I bought a little replica ages ago when travelling in South East Asia and it watches over me at home. It's forever making peace. :)

Other people were enjoying the peace and quiet of the start of the week in the peaceful gaze of other statues.

And then there were the materialistic ones, desperate for a cup of coffee. ;) I love the variety of people's poses and the reflection of the Great Court in the middle window in this photograph. I was so glad there were just the right amount of people in this queue to balance things out.

Being a tourist is hard work you know… I believe true love lies in little moments like this. ;)

Some people find all the energy needed even for the stairs of the Great Court. ;) I haven't been working on my Run theme for ages and caught two photos for it today after a loooong break. Just by chance…

From buddhas to monks… I have no words to add to this actually. :D Just enjoy…

And speaking of abandoned projects and themes… here's one for the Lost-series. The stairs at St Paul's never fail to give me great moments to photograph. I love not only the couple in this, but the birds and the hands in the top right hand corner. Oh, and that face! :D

There was a little lapse to usual territory coming home via St Paul's, but I am sure you can forgive me! For the past week I have been doing my street photography on the Canon 5D body which unfortunately is not mine and needs to go back to its rightful owner. It's bitter-sweet being able to borrow it as I got a taste of the wide-angle goodness again, as well as what the Holga lens for a Canon digital body can do, so parting is such sweet sorrow… But as it is back to work tomorrow I wouldn't have more time to get out this much to take photos in new places anyways. So, until next time! ;)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

