Summer 2009 – visual diary introductions

Whilst on my holiday in Finland my sister asked me why I take photographs. This is a question I often have to think about and answer. There are actually many long and winding answers to this particular question I can reel out according to the situation/person asking, but talking to my sister about her own passions and thinking about it now a week later I have a different kind of clarity about the whole subject. Since I was 12 years old I have been writing a diary, on and off, by hand. I could say taking photographs is somehow my visual diary, among the so many other reasons I have for why I do it. The need to record, document, remember – to have the ability to go back and look – or read- again what I had been trying to say seems always to be at the core of any kind of answer I give to people. It's about what I saw and about trying to understand what is going on around me. Answers that often come retrospectively, by returning to something a while later, to try and make sense of it all.

Therefore, I'm going to blog my holiday photos a little differently than usual this year. Partly because I have been thinking (obviously too much) about photography again, but also because I wanted to share this visual diary with you, too. So in short, the plan is to blog more often, but with less photos. :) This year I spent a week and a half in my native Finland and had a short break with my family in Tallinn, Estonia. The weather was super, the pace of life coma-inducingly relaxing (just what I needed!) and I had a chance to meet friends, at times in quite surprising circumstances. The blueberries are in season in Finland and we had to walk less than 5 minutes from my parents' place to go pick some this week. Life is so different compared to London. But in a good way. I hope you enjoy sharing these memories with me.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One Comment on “Summer 2009 – visual diary introductions”


Leave a Reply

