March 2012

Wow, time is flying by! I’ve had a quite a busy month stifled with a seasonal cold and work stuff and then all of a sudden it is April and Easter break. Apologies for getting a little bit behind posting photos here. You’d be happy to know the picture-a-day project is still going strong though even though I haven’t been sharing any photos. :)

Let’s see what March looked like:

The spring has well and truly sprung and it has been so lovely to see London transform from a very cold and grey city into a pretty warm island of new green and pink petals. My favourite visit in March was to the Somerset House where these gorgeous ceramic flowers dabble the central courtyard until the end of April. It’s a stunning view, so pop over to see it yourself if you are around!

I’ve spent a LOT of time on the underground and if I’ve had a busy day I notice taking my daily picture on my commute home. Hence there are quite a few photos already in my collection from the past three months. I hope I can push myself a bit more to be creative on days like these, but then again there are so many subjects just sitting there waiting to be captured it feels like an easy go-to backup… :)

Speaking of commuting, I thought I’d never say these words, but King’s Cross is such a pleasure to commute through since the new extension opened there in the middle of March. The new foyer and its architecture are super, wouldn’t you agree? Who’d thought! I now can’t wait for them to remove that ugly green front from the 70’s to make this probably one of the most stunning stations in London combining the old and new perfectly.

Other things that made me happy in March included:

Discovering Paddington Basin! I never knew the canal went right past Paddington Station! What a great find, with a little farmer’s market, cafe’s, shops and direct route to either Edgware Road or all the way to Little Venice in Maida Vale.

Meeting Pimms! Isn’t she gorgeous? I was out and about in Vauxhall and whenever I’m in the area I go by the Vauxhall City Farm. I was planning to pop over to see the spring lambs, but got distracted by such a warm hello by Pimms. (Isn’t that a lovely pose as well?) :)

The lighter (warmer) evenings! Changing the clock to summer time is never easy and I hate losing the hour’s sleep initially, but the fact that it’s still light when I leave the office at the end of the day soon makes up for it. I feel like I’ve not wasted a day when I can still get on with things in the evening and the weather in March was also phenomenally warm, which made it all the better, too.

Spring and light evenings have also meant that I’ve hopped on the bike for the first time this year, too. The one good thing Boris has ever given us Londoners as far as I’m concerned (although it’s still a shame we can’t use our Oyster cards to use them!). :) A quick dash from Drury Lane to Waterloo was a nice way to open the bike season. :)

And even though I cannot shake my Instagram obsession I haven’t done too badly pushing myself to the world of street photography with it recently. The whole project has keep my visually alert and glad to be documenting my life on daily basis. I still don’t feel fatigued by it at all, which I am quite surprised and very pleased about.

How is your spring looking like? ;)

One Comment on “March 2012”

  1. I love these, especially the underground ones, they’re so London. And the new Kings Cross is gorgeous, who knew?


Leave a Reply

